VIRGINIA CRUZ

Virginia was the first graduate of Ecole Polytechnique (France) to also graduate from the Royal College of Art in London. She also graduated from Les Mines ParisTech (France) and the Imperial College in London. Her strong interdisciplinary training has enabled her to take on high-profile projects at Le Louvre, Louis Vuitton, Electrolux in Sweden, Sony R&D, Sacred World Foundation in India, France Telecom R&D and Orange. She joined IDSL in April 2008. She was also member of the French National Digital Council. CV

NICOLAS GAUDRON

Nicolas graduated from the ENSAAMA Art School in Paris, the University of Central England and the Royal College of Art in London, under the tutelage of Anthony Dunne and Durrell Bishop. He joined IDEO in Palo Alto. He then moved on to INRIA, the French National Institute for Research in Computer Science and Automation, where he was part of the Human Computer Interaction team led by Wendy Mackay and Michel Beaudouin-Lafon. He then worked at the Renault Direction of Industrial Design, in the « Prospective & Concept Car » studio before starting IDSL in April 2007. CV

Nicolas and Virginia started their collaboration in 2003 on a research project for Sony Computer Science Lab, which led them to create the first studio dedicated to physical interaction design at Ecole Nationale des Arts Decoratifs in France in 2006. They are both frequent and sought-after speakers and have delivered multiple design courses in various prestigious universities, including the ME310 Stanford program and the French Ecole Polytechnique—where they initiated (and ran for 10 years) the first course on designing interactions, services and design thinking. Nicolas and Virginia contribute to research in design and innovation with academic papers in international conferences.


 

IDSL

Innovation and design company based in Paris and Bordeaux, 13 years of collaboration with our clients.

We first started working with R&D departments of big French corporate companies on digital and technological projects: how do we interact with these new systems and set-ups (projects mixing physical and digital interactions)? Which meaningful uses can these technologies address to support real user needs?

Our holistic approach that encompasses the whole user journey led us to become the perfect fit partners for strategic marketing teams and chief officers. We have had a numerous account of projects around revisiting/creating user experience : how to create a rewarding user experience for all stakeholders? How to revisit the customer relationship when the digital changes people’s habits, contexts of use, business models? How to rethink the organisation, the roles, the expertise and skills, the tools to deliver these new experiences and customer relationships?

We work both on the consistency of the overall experience and on the details: of each touchpoint, each interaction, whether it is a smart object (IoT), screen-based interface, roles and job titles, tools for people, HR program etc.

The subjects we work on are very varied. Our clients describe us as « innovation birth givers », or « solution crackers ». Whatever your problem is, we have the methods and tools to help you solve it.

 
idsl-Reach-03.JPG

REACH, our international network

We are the French representative of the international network Reach. Reach is a global network of agencies specialising in human-centred design research (a combination of ethnography, and design tools) and service innovation. Partners of the network are all over the world:  Australia, Brasil, Canada, China, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Kazakhstan, Nigeria, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Philippines, Russia, Singapour, South Africa, Spain, United Kingdom, United States.
Reach contributes to improving existing services and is a perfect network to develop new offers for foreign countries.
Every two years, we organise a public international conference: the Great Outdoors Of Design (GOOD).

 

©2020 by idsl

VIRGINIA CRUZ

Virginia est la première polytechnicienne à être diplômée du Royal College of Art à Londres. Elle est également diplômée des Mines de Paris et de l’Imperial College à Londres. Son parcours professionnel est à la croisée des arts, des sciences et de l’industrie au Louvre, chez Louis Vuitton, Electrolux en Suède, Sony R&D, France Télécom R&D et Orange. Elle rejoint IDSL en avril 2008.

Virginia a aussi été membre du Conseil National du Numérique. CV

NICOLAS GAUDRON

Nicolas est diplômé de l’École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Appliqués et des Métiers d'Art (ENSAAMA) à Paris, de l’University of Central England et du Royal College of Art à Londres, sous le tutorat d’Anthony Dunne et Durrell Bishop. Après avoir travaillé chez IDEO à Palo Alto, il a rejoint l’INRIA dans l’équipe de recherche en Interaction Homme Machine dirigée par Wendy Mackay et Michel Beaudouin-Lafon. Il a ensuite travaillé à la Direction du Design Industriel Renault au sein du studio «Prospective & Concept Car», avant de fonder IDSL en avril 2007. CV

Nicolas et Virginia ont commencé à collaborer en 2003 sur un projet de recherche pour Sony Computer Science Lab, puis en 2006 en créant le premier studio de design d’interaction orienté objet à l’École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs. Ils sont aussi conférenciers et ont enseigné dans plusieurs écoles, notamment pour le programme ME310 de Stanford et à l’École Polytechnique où ils ont créé et animé pendant 10 ans le premier séminaire sur le design des interactions, de service et design thinking. Nicolas et Virginia contribuent à la recherche en design et en innovation en publiant régulièrement des articles académiques dans des conférences internationales.

 

IDSL

Agence de design et d'innovation basée à Paris et Bordeaux, nous accompagnons nos clients depuis 13 ans.

Notre activité a débuté autour de projets de R&D pour des grands groupes français sur des sujets technologiques et numériques : comment interagir avec ses nouveaux dispositifs (projets mêlant des interactions physiques et numériques) ? Comment façonner (design-er) cette nouvelle matière qu'est le numérique? Quels usages pour ces nouvelles technologies pour qu’elles soient porteuses de sens et répondent à de vrais besoins d'utilisateurs?

 

Grâce à notre approche holistique, qui prend en compte l’intégralité du parcours client, nous sommes devenus les partenaires idéaux de plusieurs directions du marketing stratégique. Dès lors, nous avons eu beaucoup de projets où il s’agissait de créer/repenser l'expérience clients : comment mettre en place une expérience client gratifiante pour toutes les parties prenantes? Comment faire évoluer la relation client, l’adapter à contexte où le numérique redistribue les cartes et bouleverse la majorité des secteurs? Comment revoir l’organisation, les rôles, les compétences des personnes, les process et les outils de l’entreprise/structure pour délivrer ces nouvelles expériences et relation clients?

 

Nous travaillons à assurer la cohérence de l'expérience globale mais veillons aussi aux détails: chaque point de contact, chaque interaction, qu'il s'agisse d'objets physiques (IoT), d'interfaces écrans, du rôle, des outils des personnes parties impliquées, programme RH, etc.

 

Aujourd'hui, les sujets sur lesquels nous intervenons sont extrêmement variés. Nos clients nous voient comme des « accoucheurs d’innovation », des « crackers de solutions ». Quelque soit votre problème, nous avons les méthodes et les outils pour vous aider à le résoudre.

 
idsl-Reach-03.JPG

REACH, notre réseau international

Nous sommes la branche française du réseau international Reach, un réseau international de sociétés spécialisées dans les études clients par une approche qualitative qui combine ethnographie, outils design et innovation service. Ce réseau est composé de partenaires dans plusieurs pays ou régions du monde : Afrique du Sud, Allemagne, Australie, Brésil, Canada, Chine, Danemark, Espagne, Etats-Unis, France, Hong Kong, Hongrie, Inde, Indonésie, Italie, Kazakhstan, Nigéria, Japon, Mexique, Pays-Bas, Philippines, Royaume-Uni, Russie et Singapour. Reach contribue à améliorer les services existants et permet de développer de nouvelles offres sur des marchés étrangers.
Tous les deux ans, nous organisons une conférence internationale publique : the Great Outdoors Of Design (GOOD).

 

©2020 by idsl